Made it…

Well, I made it back home lastnight. I was so exhausted that I fell asleep at six o’clock and then slept till eight this morning. I do not do well on vacation. Especially now that I have a service dog and have to worry about him. Keen is happy to be home too. I got up and fed him at eight and then got myself some breakfast. After a while, I realized that I hadn’t seen Keen for a bit and called him and called. I then go down to my room and find curled up (on my side of the bed) and asleep. 

I have my last grooms this week since I quit grooming. I left for vacation with only two grooms to do this week and come back to find that my boss “forgot” that she had schedule five more for this week. It’s that kind of thing that made me quit. She never tells me when she is scheduling grooms. It’s really sad when the best bargaining chip your boss has is, “Well I can just ask you if you want to work.” Yes. She seriously said that.

Anyways, I met with the lady, Deb, that owns the program that I got Keen through and I didn’t get any good news. I had asked her a couple weeks ago if I could use her as a reference for a job that was dog related, so she knew I was looking for a new job. I walked in a she asked if I got the job that I used her for and I said no. Then she said that my boss called her and the day I quit and said, “Do you know of any groomers in my area? Because Abbie just quit on me.” 

My boss that Deb have known each other for a while because Keen’s trainer, Emily, worked for both of them. I then had to explain to Deb the reasons why I quit the grooming. She did not ask for an explanation, but I had a feeling that there was a kind of “I will see what I can do to get her to reconsider” vibe going on. Deb was very understanding once she heard my side of the story.

After that, we got to talking about my job options. I told her that one of my biggest worries is how Keen is gonna be able to do his job while I’m doing my job. So, she started working with Keen and he did his growling thing. I was worried when he started doing that, but she said it’s just him talking. It was really funny watching her work with him. It was like they were having a real conversation. 

To sum up the long conversation we had on my job options… I’m screwed. I have no experience in the kind of area I want to go in, so I won’t/can’t get hired. My other otion is to start up the bed bug detection business with my dad, but we had talked about it for a while now and he made it clear that he won’t be pursuing it for a couple years. So that’s out of the question. My only option is to go to college.

College. There it is again. All it makes me want to do is scream. Now that I have quit the grooming part of my job, I will only be making enough for me to pay my car insurance, phone bill, and half a tank of gas. I’m basically out of a job. How am I going to afford college? I don’t even think I will qualify for a loan because I don’t have any credit. Ugh. I. Am. Screwed. Back at square… Zero.

One thought on “Made it…

  1. I have nothing but bad credit and I qualify for loans. It may be a slow process taking one or two classes at a time, but it might be worth it to look. Talk to the financial aid department at the school you want to go to. They can be incredibly helpful. They may have some scholarship or grant options for you too. I know it’s not what you want to do, but it’s something, right?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

