Should I stay or should I go?

My best friend in the whole world (let’s call her D) moved to Colorado Springs a couple years ago now. We weren’t super close when she was here, but after she left I refused to “fall out” of friendship. So, I mailed a letter to her every week and we texted every day. Before long, we were as close as sisters. 

We stayed to pick up each others pieces when we were having bad days, or even when we just wanted to vent, or be a goof and just say random things (that was mostly me) about nothing. We would stay up all night texting and bawling when wishing we could have one another to hug. D would text me how I’m doing and demand the truth when I say I’m fine, and vise versa. 

When I was really struggling with depression, I texted her and was told her that I love her. She knew something was wrong and demanded me to tell her what it was. Eventually, I revealed to her my plan. That was when I had my first visit to the psych hospital. She texted me everyday, all day. (The reason she could was because I ended up being admitted to the surgical ward after discovering a 103.4 temp. Which led them to discovering that I was malnourished and had lost my appetite). 

Well, we have only gotten to see each other for a few hours in three years and we really need to be in each others company. D usually comes down to see me every summer, but I had missed her the first time due a 72 hour EEG being done at the hospital. But she can’t make it this summer. 

I, in the other hand, can make it to go see her. But since I don’t have a drivers license, I can’t road trip it. My only other option is to go by plane. I can afford it, but it will come out of my car savings. $300 of it will anyway. The more I think of it, the more that I’m reluctant to actually do it. I think about the fact that I won’t be able to potty Keen in between flights and that D has a cat, and Keen is not good with them. 

My parents tell me that the seating is extremely tight and that I probably won’t be able to just lay him at my feet. That makes me really worried because having a dog that isn’t comfortable can make everyone else, on the plane, uncomfortable. I have never been on a plane before and don’t know what to do. Especially since I have a service dog, it might be a lot more difficult than I thought.

Any information you can give me on flying with a service dog would be great. Keep in mind, the more the better. I have only ever been at the enterance of the airport. I have no idea what going through security is like.

Leave a Reply

